Washington, Oregon, California announce COVID-19 pact

Oregon joins Washington and California in western state pact for reopening state economies.

Washington, Oregon and California have agreed to work together on a shared approach to re-opening their economies and controlling the spread of COVID-19, the states' governors announced Monday, April 13.

The so-called Western States Pact doesn't take the place of state-by-state planning, the governors said in a joint statement. However, the three states will co-develop a "West Coast framework" based on common principles, they said.